Skip to main content

How do I request a Client Selection in Pic-Time 2.0?

Written by Lauren

This article is for Pic-Time 2.0. Learn more about Pic-Time 2.0 here!

If needed, you can check out the Pic-Time 1.0 version of this article here.

Please Note: This feature is currently being tested by our beta photographers, and will be released to the general public soon!

Use the Selection Request tool to request a number of specific media from your clients for various purposes (proofing, retouching, album design, prints etc.). This tool can be found in the Client Gallery’s Gallery Dashboard tab, and is included in Professional and Advanced Plans.

Creating the Selection Request

In the specific Client Gallery, select the Gallery Dashboard tab and click + Client Selection.

If you’ve already created one Client Selection, click the + plus icon to create additional Selections.

1. Add Title and Deadline

Type the Title, and select the Deadline. You can set both the date and time.

2. Set Selection limits

Then set your Selection limits.

  • Click No limit if you want to allow your client to select any number of media.

  • Click Limit if you want to set a certain number of media the client is allowed to select.

If you want your clients to select a specific number of media:

  1. Under Required photos, type the exact amount they need to pick

  2. Under Allow additional photos, select No

If you want your clients to select a range of media, or a minimum to maximum amount:

  1. Under Required photos, type the minimum amount they need to pick

  2. Under Allow Additional photos, select Yes

  3. Under Maximum total photos (optional), type the maximum amount they need to pick, or leave this option blank if you don’t want to give your client a max limit.

3. Choose Participants

Next, select your Participants. Your Main Clients will be automatically selected when you initially create the Selection Request. At any point, click on the X icon next to the selected participant to remove them.

Checkmark if you want to Allow participants to comment on photos. This will also enable you as the photographer to comment on the images.

To add participants, click Edit participants.

Use the search bar to search for any existing participants and filter between All Types, Main Clients, or Photographer Invited users. Or click to + Add a new person.

When adding a new participant, type their Name and Email, then click to Save. They will be added as a Photographer Invited user for this particular gallery.

Checkmark any people you want to include in the Selection Request as participants, then click Done.

4. Add In-gallery guidelines

Click Preview and edit guidelines to add media and instructions for your clients while they make their selections.

Click Add cover to add media to your guidelines.

You can select from the gallery’s existing photos or click the + plus icon to upload media specifically for this guideline.

When you’re ready, click Done.

If needed, you can Remove or Replace the photos.

Then type a Message for your participants if you want, or select a recent message.

When you’re ready, click Done.

5. Select emails

Invite Email

Uncheck if you don’t want to send an email inviting your clients to complete their Selection. They will still see the Selection Request in their gallery when logged into their account. You can notify your clients via email later on through the Send Reminder option.

If you do want to send an invite email, leave this option checked and click to Edit invite email.

Select an email from your Email Packages if you like and type your message.

Pro Tip: If you create custom Email Packages, you can pre-load the email text, and adjust the email title, button text, and more. Learn more here!

When ready, click Set email text.

Reminder emails

Then checkmark which automatic reminder emails you’d like the clients to receive.

If the Selection Request expires before the client completes it, they’ll also receive an expiration email.

Default text is used in these automatic emails, and you can edit the verbiage by creating a new Email Package and editing the email content for Client selection reminder and Client selection expired emails. Learn more here!

6. Finish Selection Request

Then when you’re ready, click to Create the Selection Request. Or if you’re editing an existing request, click to Apply your changes.


Monitoring or Adjusting Client Selection

Once the Selection is completed and sent back to you by your client, you will receive an email notification. You are also able to monitor client progress at any time during the selection process.

If the client has completed their Selection and left you feedback, you can click on the chat bubble to view and respond to their comments.

If you want to learn more about how you and your clients can leave comments, check out the white-labeled client article here!

Click the three dots next to the Selection to:

Edit

You can edit any part of the Selection Request. Click the three dots next to the Selection and click Edit. Click here to go to the tutorial.

Pro Tip: Editing the Selection Request will not re-send the Invite Email. If you want to notify your clients of any changes via email, you can do so through the Send Reminder option.

Participants

You can add participants at any time. Click the three dots next to the Selection and click Participants.

Use the search bar to search for any existing participants and filter between All Types, Main Clients, or Photographer Invited users. Or click to + Add a new person. They will be added to the gallery as a Photographer Invited user.

When adding a new participant, type their Name and Email, then click to Save. They will be added as a Photographer Invited user for this particular gallery.

Checkmark any people you want to include in the Selection Request as participants, then click Done.

Select an email from your Email Packages if you like and type your message. Then click Send Email to invite the new participants.

Pro Tip: If you want to remove a participant, Edit the Selection instead!

Send reminder

Click the three dots next to the Selection and click Send Reminder.

To send a reminder email to your existing participants, select a message from your Email Packages if you like, type your message, and click Send Email.

CSV List

Click the three dots next to the Selection and click CSV List.

Download or copy the CSV List. The CSV list obtained from the Selection will include the filenames of the selected images. This list can be used to locate the images in a folder, Lightroom etc. To learn more about how to manage a CSV List, click here.


Close the Selection

If you need to close the Selection, click on the three dots and select Close.

Click OK.

Re-open closed or expired Selection

If you closed the Selection or the Selection expired, you can reopen it. To reopen the Selection, click on the three dots and select Reopen.

This will allow you to edit the selection and resend it to your participants.


Enable selected media for download

If you want only the images the client selected to be available for download, one option is to move them to their own scene and set that scene as available for download.

1. To do this, begin in the Photos & Media tab and click to Filter & AI Search.

2. Click on Clients’ Collections and checkmark to filter the specific Selection Request.

3. Click to Select All, click Manage photos > Move to scene, and then click on the scene where you want to move the images.

4. Then in the Gallery Setup tab, enable downloads under Photo Downloads by clicking More Settings.

5. Checkmark to enable free downloads. Then checkmark to Limit download to specific scenes, then checkmark the scene you just moved the images to. Click Apply.

Then your clients will only be able to download images from that specific scene only.


Emailing digital files via Selection

1. To email the digital files included in the Selection, click on the Selection itself in the Gallery Dashboard tab. You may need to first click View all if you have more than two Selection Requests.

2. Hover over Done and click Send photos by email.

3. Enter the client’s email and your message. Uncheck the Send full resolution files option if you want to adjust the downloaded file resolution. Then click Send Email.


Syncing with Lightroom

By syncing the Pic-Time Lightroom Plug-in you can easily identify the selected photos in the Lightroom. This creates a smooth workflow, so you can export, edit & modify the images in Lightroom that your client selected. To learn more about the Pic-Time Lightroom plug-in, click here.

Did this answer your question?